Brand New to the Hobby

Sham

Hey, guys and gals! I live in Herndon, VA and after visiting the Marine Scene, I knew this would be the hobby for me! I've been reading up on this and may ask a few or a ton of questions as I have very little experience owning fish. I'm soon going to purchase a BioCube 29 with the LED light upgrade and a wonderful little reef should follow a few weeks after that. I've been warned for years about how hard it can be, but never by people who have saltwater fish. I think it's mostly from people who tried it and failed and didn't like it. I know that I'm going to LOVE this hobby and it will be so rewarding.

I may start up a new thread or update this one with my progress. But I'm currently reading the New Marine Aquarist by Mike Palletta. It's so fascinating!

Hi Sham!, Wow your absolutely going to love LED, they make everything easier! :biggrin:

Welcome to the hobby and the club!, post pictures of your set up when your able to! We do love our pictures!

Couldnt be happier to hear that your reading up on the hobby before jumping in. That was your first good move.! And a good choice to read as well... Its a great hobby, and the reward is well worth it.! Be patient and informed, and you will be ok.!

As Trock said, reading many books BEFORE purchasing is a great idea. If you're determined to do an LED lit tank, be sure to use 3w LED's as opposed to anything that uses 1w or halfwatt emitters. You'll be much happier in the long run. You might even be better off retrofitting a DIY fixture into the BC29.

Welcome! You may want to consider joining WAMAS. As a full member, you'll have access to the For Sale and other member only areas. It's the best $20 you will EVER spend in this hobby.

Thanks for the warm welcome! The light I'm getting for my BioCube is the HQI metal halide lamp with a clear glass canopy! I'm so excited!