OldReefer Rebuild

OldReefer

I have been pretty quiet lately since my tank and I have been going through a lot of changes. I took care of a lot of health challenges ( and lost a hundred pounds in the process). I start a new job next month that will not have me on the road 200 days a year.

It is only fitting that I give my tank a makeover.

I have struggled with my tank ever since I made the switch to 100 percent LEDs. Things got worse as the tank hit it's third birthday and started accumulating nutrients. I have been fighting a losing battle with Bryopsis for 6 months. I raised my magnesium to 1800 with Tech M. It killed off my massive colonies of encrusting Montipora and left the Bryopsis. That made my nutrient problem worse.

Here is what is left:

78bc0be04add464c184798b4f2a33320.jpg

My first step was to remove the remote DSB I had in the sump. That was a good idea, because it was absolutely toxic. I gained 100 points on my ORP the next day. Things started looking up.

Then I ordered 120 lbs of Marco Rocks and put them in a 100 gallon stock tank lit with my very bright full-spectrum DIY LED light. I have a closed loop powered by a 1100 gph external pump and educators.

The dry rock has been cycling in there with bacteria and tank water for three weeks now. This will hold my livestock during the transition.

38bbc18b6b77d55082df6502189b66c6.jpg

I plan to remove a lot of the old rock that has dead coral skeletons and traces of Bryopsis. I will drain the display completely and pull out the sand bed. I have a couple sheets of beige Starboard to go on the bottom. I will try to open up the rock work a bit more to allow fir more coral growth. Hopefully I will have the main system running within 36 hours. I should retain enough bacteria in the recycled rock in the DT and the sump to avoid a big cycle. The dry rock is also pretty " alive" at this point as well.

The next phase of the project will be a lighting makeover.