Cloudy Water Help

collettk

Hello,

I'm fairly new to the hobby, set up a 180g tank.  When I initially filled the tank I believe I mixed the salt wrong (added water to the salt).  The water has never been fully clear and I wasn't sure if that was how it was suppose to look. Water parameters are perfect (except my pH is a little low 7.9.)  I recently did a 20% water change.  When I mixed the first batch I did it the same way (salt then water), and noticed after 24 hours the water was still very cloudy so I didn't use it.  So I dumped it and filled the water 1st then added the salt.  Within hours it was crystal clear.  So my question is, what would be the best way to clear my tank?  I can't do a 100% water change, I have livestock.

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It really doesn't make that much of a difference on how you mix saltwater...

What are you using as filtration on the tank? Do you have live rock in the tank? How long has this been set up?

I've seen cloudy tanks right after settings and its a mixture of issues, usually bacteria blooms or something going on with dry rock...

I used 150 lbs of cured live rock, It's been set up for about 6 weeks now.  I have a two tangs, two clowns, two wrasse, two diamond gobies, and a rabbitfish, plus 15 Nassarius snails, and 20 small hermit crabs.  In my sump I have a refugium with macro algae. I using a dual reactor (Carbon and GFO).  I'm using two Tunzes 6105 powerheads and my water flow is really strong.

Do you have a filter sock on the drain? Skimmer? I'm surprised your cloudy with the carbon. Thats a huge bio load for such a new tank. You might just need to run it longer. You could run a maxijet with a hose going into a filter sock in the DT for a little while. What kind of return pump are you running? How much turnover from dt to sump are you getting?

(edited)