Hello! New member here...

Hello all!

I am very new to the marine aquarium world and knew that joining this club would be extremely beneficial in many ways. I am glad I found it and to be here. I live in Centreville w/ my wife, daughter and cat Oreo. I look forward to interacting with you all. I thought I'd share what I'm about to get into with you all as an introduction.

I am just starting to set up my "starter" tank. I'm only devoting a small area of the house to begin with so it'll be a 29G. I wanted to keep this on a tight budget but it doesn't look like it'll work out that way...I bought a used stand and tank from craigslist, both in good condition. While cleaning the tank w/ a razor, I accidentally striped some of the silicone at the corner. After a long discussion w/ myself and my wife I decided to not cut corners and buy a new one. I've been picking up things here and there and am probably a good 3 weeks away from starting my cycle. I plan to start out w/ a FOWLR and eventually get into corals. I have decided to buy things as I need such as good lights for example.

I plan to do a SSB for aesthetic reasons and have picked up aragonite substrate and a couple of power heads. I just bought a RO/DI from Pure H20 and am waiting on that. My current research involves a skimmer. I don't have a sump so I'll either need an in-tank or a HOB. I'd rather not give up tank room but I am not sure about a HOB as well. Kind of stuck on this research between a Reef Octopus BH100 or a Tunze 9002. The problem w/ the Tunze is that it won't fit within my tank hood and light (which is the cheap one's that come w/ a standard 29). Any suggestions?

Once the RODI is installed, skimmer is bought, then it's rock time. I can't wait for this to take shape but know that patience is important in this hobby. It's extremely addicting (as I sit here and type on Valentine's Day).