Need Some Help Picking Fish

~*Lisa*~

I am a newbie to the whole saltwater tank thing...my husband has a reef tank and all of his fish are doing very well and he has not lost any fish yet. I however have artificial decorations with live sand. I currently have 1 blue green chromis, 2 flame scallops, 1 very small hermit crab, and 1 snail. I previously had a BEAUTIFUL tang fish, 2 more blue green chromis fish, and 2 emerald crabs. Before purchasing the crabs I asked the owner of our local fish store if the crabs would bother any of my fish or if the fish would bother the crabs...she informed me that nothing would happen between the fish and the crabs. A few days later my crab killed my tang, then 2 of my chromis fish. Everyone has told me that the fish were probably already dead....but I caught the crab in the act!! I removed the crabs from my tank and I am terrified to add anything to my tank that will not mesh with the other fish I already have. Does anybody have suggestions for some colorful and hearty fish that I can add to my tank??

An emerald crab will not hurt a healthy tang. It more likely was on its way out and the crab was being opportunistic.

If you don't have corals, there are many angels and butterflies. Toby puffers have striking color variations too.

It's tough to make specific recommendations because you havnt said anything about your tank.

Edited by hypertech

My fish were all very healthy and swimming around and we were watching them eat...then the crab grabbed a hold of the tang when it got close and started ripping it to shreds as it was swimming (well more like freaking out) I tried to save it...but the crab worked too fast and I couldnt grab the fish in the net.

Edited by ~*Lisa*~

It's tough to make specific recommendations because you havnt said anything about your tank.

I have a 40 gallon upright tank, artificial decorations and plants...what other info would be helpful?? I really want to get something going with this tank