Tank needs to be drilled

Sham

As some of you may or may not know, I'm new to the hobbie. Also, I just won my first ever tank in the raffle! It needs tto be drilled. I'm in Herndon. Where can I go to have it drilled?

Some LFS may do it, but most times its down to if you want to do it yourself. The best option I know of is go to a member who has experience with it, some may even do it for free. Enjoy your 55, and welcome to the club.

You can drill it in your kitchen (been there done that) with a little plumbers putty, a glass hole saw, and a drill. Just be sure it isn't tempered.

Edit, this is a 55? Chances are it can't be drilled. Most 55's are all tempered, I believe.

Edited by hypertech

Check to make sure it's not tempered. If it's not, I'm in Herndon too and can help you drill it. I've drilled quite a few holes and have never had a problem however it goes without saying that I'm not going to be at fault if something goes wrong. What size holes do you need? I have a few drill bits that we may be able to use, otherwise BRK sells them. Shoot me a pm if you want, I'm more than happy to help.

It IS tempered. :( I forgot to mention that in the first post. Now what can I do? And thanks for the offer, Late to Rise!

Welcome to the awesome-st hobby of all times!!!

It is best to learn from history. Here is a link to a WAMAS video from 2008 on drilling tempered glass... http://www.youtube.c...?v=qvRgklsm6so) I wouldn't mess with it. And since you won it as a raffle prize, if it shatters there will be even more regret. Good luck!

BTW, I am so bummed that I had to work and couldn't make it to the Spring metting! Looking forward to the next one :clap:.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvRgklsm6so

Edited by Reefoholic

The thing is, veteran aquarists say I need it drilled, but I've never known what for. How hard is it if it's NOT drilled? I've never really had it explained to me difinitively.