75 Gallon Acrylic Construction Journal

VicSkimmr

First off, I reckon I should probably introduce myself and give a little backround about my situation.

My name is Jason, and I'm a fledgling CPA-in-training at a small firm in Harrisonburg, VA. I just graduated from Coastal Carolina University (Myrtle Beach, SC) this past May, but my home has always been in the Harrisonburg area. While I was there I was a marine science major for the first 3 years, but I decided that that subject is better suited for a hobby for me instead of a career, so I switched to accounting. I just moved into a new place, so I think I'm finally ready to get back into the hobby.

I've got about 5 years of experience with saltwater tanks, the past 3 being with reefs. My last tank was a 55 gallon acrylic that I sort of teethed on, there were a lot of lessons learned the hard way, but I had fun. Here's a pic of what it looked like at one point.

DSCN3047.gif

More photo's can be found here. http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v62/VicS...p;addtype=local

Anyway... to the new tank.

Dimensions

36" x 24" x 20" , built by Jeff (NAGA)

Goal

I'm planning on setting this up so it will be viewable from 3 sides. The rock structure will be set up as a shallow reef system, so the rockwork will be low so the corals have lots of room for growth. It will be primarily dominated by SPS.

Lighting

A 36" Tek T5 fixture with 6 bulbs, I haven't decided on the bulb combination just yet.

Filtration

Probably around 60 lbs of live rock and a Euro-Reef CS-1 skimmer that I've got left over from my last tank. I'll eventually add a UV sterilizer as well.

Water Flow

I really want to grab a couple of Tunze Nanostream 6045's when they're released. Speaking of which, has anybody heard about them recently? I thought they were scheduled to be released at the end of '06?