Controller Advise...

NYfan78

I have a Red Se Max 130/34gal. set up. I was thinking for doing a controller on it. What are the benefits of a controller on a nano tank like mine? and which model should I consider? Any help is much appreciated!

Safety functions, data logging, and perhaps remote monitoring.

:)

I'm running an RKL (digital aquatics) for my lights and heater. Thing is awesome and for just over $100. There are others that can control alot more, but I have not found the need as of yet. Once my new tank is up and running I might have to upgrade but I have been using this for two years without any issues.

Heater control to me is the single most important function.

Email alerts , monitoring are great

Previously I would control lights and pumps...but newer LEDs now have controllers for lights built into them

If u use a ca reactor ...then a controller is also helpful, to prevent from nuking

Oh...ato also is good with a controller but u can get standalone ones to fit the bill too...

I use a ato plus additional safety floats controlled by the ato

But in the end I would say at the very least get a rkl for dual heater control...

If ur pockets are deep u can go apex or rke...both are great...I use both

My tank has a built in light timer. I would manly useit for heater and the cooling fan that blows over the water.

I have a reefkeeper lite for my nano that I'm bringing to college with me. Main thing I got it for is temperature control, but also e-mail/text alerts, light control, etc. A good temperature controller will cost you near a hundred bucks alone, so you get a lot more for just $20 more (though the e-mail/text/computer part- the NET module- will cost you another $115)

I was looking at the Neptune Apex Jr. system. http://www.neptunesy...id=61&Itemid=40

Now i know it has an app for my phone and is expandable for when I go bigger. Also not sure if it is wireless.

It's not wireless by itself, but is wireless compatible...