540 Gallon Tank Beginning

I just picked up my new tank on Thursday. I'll post pictures of the tank and the move when I get around to re-sizing them to an appropriate size. In the meantime, I could use some help with designing the flow. I've never built a closed loop before and am having trouble. I've talked with the guys at WetWebMedia, but I'm still lost.

Tank: 540 gallons, 8'x3'x3'

Drilled Bulkheads: Two 2" bulkheads 2" from top (in the corners), four 1" bulkheads between them. The 1" bulkheads along the top are currently teed together in two sets of two. Five 1" bulkheads evenly spaced around 6" from the bottom.

Planned Coral Inhabitants: Mostly LPS, i.e. favia, euphyllia, trachyphyllia, etc.

Planned Flow Rate: ??? I was planning around 5400 GPH as I think LPS don't do well with the high levels of flow required for SPS. WetWebMedia is suggesting at least twice that much flow.

Current Equipment for Flow: I have two Tunze 6000 Streams and a 7095 controller, which will definitely go into the tank. I may supplement with additional Streams. I am using an Iwaki MD100 pump for my current sump return, but am considering using something different to get a more energy efficient system if possible. I have a spare MD100, so I could use two if necessary.

Am looking for suggestions for total flow, open loop design, and closed loop design.

I disagree with WWM when it comes to LPS and flow. On one hand, they practically want you to have a whirlpool rate of flow, but then they caution you about having too much flow irritating the LPS'es. In fact, I actually asked a question a couple of weeks ago regarding this issue, and it came back clear as mud! I ended up just aiming for half of what they recommended, and decided I would add powerheads if I experienced issues. In my mind, it's easier to add an extra modded MaxiJet than it is to baffle excessive flow.