Hello All from Centreville, VA

Hey guys!

Just wanted to say hi.  Broke down and decided to pay the membership fees.. But knowledge is priceless right?

I am 23 and work full time in Chantilly at an engineering firm.  I moved back to the area after I graduated with my bachelors in civil engineering from Purdue in May 2012, and I'm currently working on my masters at George Mason in structural engineering.

I am new to the hobby and currently in the process of piecing together my 90 gal reef tank.  In fact I've been working on it, planning it out, and reading everything I can get my hands on for a little over a year now.  I've always wanted to get into the hobby, as I love viewing the fascinating reefs while snorkeling and scuba diving (Although only been diving once).

You may ask, why the long wait?  Well, after getting my undergrad I moved back home with my parents till I finish up with grad school, to save some money (Which somewhat goes to funding this expensive hobby  :happy: ).  After a year, the suspension is killing me, and I figure why wait till I graduate in 2015...  I finally convinced my parents with the art of persuasion (Mostly getting my mom excited about it so she could convince my dad) to let me install my 90 gal as a centerpiece in the living room after Christmas.

I have pretty much everything I need to get started and just ordered my dry rock and sand from reefcleaners.com 2 days ago.  I plan on purchasing the rest of my equipment, test kits, maintenance items, etc on Black Friday so I can piece it all together and start the cycling process at the beginning of the new year.

Thanks for reading my rambles!

welcome!!!

you just spent the best and most important $20 you ever will in this hobby!  You now have access to the for sale section that can really assist you in getting great equipment at dirt cheap prices....and well, the members on this board and their knowledge are priceless in this hobby....so welcome aboard..