NEW

Guest tattooed

Guest tattooed

I am new to this (fresh water for 15 years). I have 23 gallon tank that I am going to use with 40 pounds of live rock . The gal at the LFS said to do live rock and a canister filter..I have read that you can use a canister and that not to use a canister filter. Help please!

I don't think you need a canister filter... What kind of tank is it? Is it an aquapod with built in chambers, or just a glass box? Is it drilled, do you have any kind of overflow so you can have a sump?

I think the basics are - live rock, live sand, protein skimmer and pump/powerhead for movement.

We've got a 36 gallon hex and we use a Cascade canister filter (which is cheap and works pretty well for us), live sand, ~40 lbs of nice and "purple-y" LR, and protein skimmer.

If you get nice LR from someone on the forum, you'll be better off because it'll be pretty established and will help you start off on the right foot. :wig:

Guest tattooed

I bought a red sea protien skimmer and a Cascade canister filter. is that over kill?

You have enough LR so you really dont need the canister, but it won't hurt to have it. Since you already have them, run both. It'll add some flow.

Here's my two cents on the canisters.

Good: Add flow, provide a good method by which to introduce things like carbon (if and when you choose), plus gives you a good failsafe should something else fail from a cleaning perspective. Assuming you're worried about flooding, Canisters provide a good way around that.

Bad: People forget about them, and don't clean them. Causing them to harbor nitrates and other bad things.

I have two in my 90 gallon tank and I like them. It's a simple way to go if you're so inclined.

Guest tattooed

Ok i got the tank going today, I bought premixed water..the SG is 1.030..I put i 17 gallons any idea on how much fresh water I would need to bring that down ? And thanks for the feedback on the filter!