Captain Nemo's Escape

cpeguero

Hi everyone. This is my first build thread, so bear with me as I document a whole bunch of progress. I’ll break this up into several posts, as I get time to put it together and add pictures. First, a little bit about me: 

 I've been reefing since about 2005, so a lot of learning has gone into this build. Started with a 72 bowfront and once had a 150 reef (along with 5+ other tanks at the time). Many years later, I'm finally building my dream tank (within the limits of practicality and spousal approval). 

This process started when we bought our home in April of 2019. The planning solidified when we went to MACNA 2019 to pick out the tank, so it's been in the works for a while.

There were a few things that were particularly important to me with this tank. First, it had to look nice. This was going to be in our beautiful dining room, and would be a central focus of the house. To keep it looking nice, it needs good maintenance (something I’m not fantastic at). So, that means automation! Another factor in keeping it nice is no cords in the tank. To get proper water flow, that meant either Vortech pumps or closed loops. Since this tank would be viewable from 3 sides, I decided against Vortechs. Closed loops would be completely hidden and allow me to get the flow I needed throughout the tank. This tank is going to be a mixed reef, so everything from an island of zoas to a few SPS. 

Finally, I want this tank to be up for as long as I’m in this house (decades, at least that’s the plan…). So I’m doing my best to not cut corners on things. This is without question the most expensive build I’ve ever done, but I’ll spend the money up front to avoid dealing with issues and having to buy equipment twice… 

Now, on to the build! 

First, the tank: