Alkalinity Decline

22bfan

I'm fairly new to reef keeping and am noticing some strange behavior with my dKH readings.

Details regarding my setup are as follows:

BioCube 29 Highly Modified

D120 LED Array (Not sure what specific model these are but chinese D120 looks similar).  Actinic spectrum @ 50%, white spectrum @ 15%.  Lights on from 8am - 8pm.

Stock filtration and horizontal baffles removed and replaced with "InTank" 2nd chamber acrylic media basket with filter floss up top, a bag of Chemi-Pure Elite and a bag of Purigen. Also in the 2nd chamber is an Tank Fuge Basket with a ball of chaeto (lights on the chaeto from 10pm-6am).

Stock return pump replaced with a CA-MJ1200

Tunze ATO

Reef Octopus BH1000 hang on back skimmer (HUGE!!)

Hydor Koralia Nano 425

I have about a 1" sand bed, live rock, and basic corals (candy canes, toadstool leather, zoa's, frogspawn, pulsing xenias, kenya tree) covering maybe 5% of the rock.

I do 2-4 gallon water changes ever week to week and a half and use RO-DI water with reef crystals.  

I occasionally feed the coral with Coral Frenzy, maybe once a week.

After water change my parameters are as follows:

dKH:  8.3

Mag:  1650

Cal:  450

I add about 20ml of Fluval's Alkalinity supplement.  This bumps dKH up in the 10's.

A week later my parameters are the following:

dKH:  8.4

Mag:  1400

Cal:  440

Seems strange that Alkalinity is dropping so quickly but Magnesium and Calcium are barely effected. 

I'd like to see my Zoa's and other corals grow a little more rapidly as well as maintain stable enough parameters to add SPS varieties.  

Any comments/help appreciated!!

Under normal circumstances, alkalinity declines 2.8 dKH for every 20 ppm of calcium consumption. In cases where there's a lot of nitrate export taking place through water changes (rather than bacterial action), alkalinity can decline 2.8 dKH for every 10 ppm of calcium consumption.