Teacher Requests Assistance With New Tank

lmerryman

After posting on Freecycle and Craig's list, I am thrilled to find WAMAS and join as a teacher member. A parent gave me a 55 gallon tall saltwater tank 2 weekends ago that took me 7 hours to move into my classroom(water, live rock, & critters). It has a feather duster, horseshoe crab, 2 ordinary clown fish, 6 small hermit crabs, a gobi, a star fish, and live rock (with brown sprouty things on it). I replaced the sand and filter content (& really cleaned it) and have checked the salinity. Tonight at the pet store, I learned that the Nitrogen and other content need checking, so I bought a kit for that and certainly want to make certain everything is safe before adding to the tank.

In the week that I have had the tank, the kids have watched it like it was a television. I have students who are not even in my classes stopping by during lunch to see the new habitat (and I'm an English teacher, not science). This makes me happy, as they are having a great time learning about a whole different world and talking about animal behaviors etc.

What I would love are some plants, coral, or fish that are 1. Safe 2. Compatible (& pretty) 3. Affordable. I would be willing to drive to NOVA during the weekend, and I live near Fredericksburg if anyone comes this way. I saw some puffer fish, blue "throw away" fish, and some tangs (Dori fish?) that I believe the kids would enjoy, and lots of cool bulbous glowy things. (The tank has a coral light and a "Cadillac" of a hood that the former owner said cost $700.00 which I would believe).

Thanks in advance for your help.

Welcome. We have a social in Manassas not too far from you on the 29th. If you make it up, you will surely get prlenty of goodies and donations for your tank. I will have a number of things for you I'm sure. Just ask.