Live food for anenomes?

Sharkey18

Does anyone feed their anenome live fish?

I gave my nem an ailing fish several months ago and it split the next day. The nem was quite large and ready to split anyhow but it made me start to wonder if they would benefit from live food in general.

Laura

I'm not an expert but I don't think the fact that the fish was LIVE is what caused the nem to split. I have seen nems split more frequently (not necesserily the next day) from being fed nice meaty foods like whole fish. I've used silversides and small fish that you can get from the Asian grocery stores.

I have fed my anemones with live foods before but I don't know if it is a real benefit over frozen. You could always setup an experiment and try it. Feed one live foods and one the same size frozen foods in the same tank and see which one grows faster.

Dont mean to jump to another subject. But here goes. We have a RBTA we got from Chris Tran about a year ago. It grew very quick, but has never split. We cloned it about 2 or 3 months ago and all the clones did very well. What have we done wrong to it to make it not split naturally.

Dont mean to jump to another subject. But here goes. We have a RBTA we got from Chris Tran about a year ago. It grew very quick, but has never split. We cloned it about 2 or 3 months ago and all the clones did very well. What have we done wrong to it to make it not split naturally.

To answer your question, "Nothing at all".

Many people think they are doing something wrong because their BTA will not split after several years under their care. In fact it is not that they are doing anything wrong but they are actually doing it all just right.