calcium reactor

dschflier

My tank currently has a GSA kalk stirrer running. I have had very good luck with this unit and my corals are doing very well.

I figure it is now time to ruin this luck by finally turning on the CO2 in my calcium reactor. I have been running the reactor for a couple of months just to see any obvious issues without running any CO2 through it.

I do not own any automated PH monitior. I am curious how someone would begin to run a calcium reactor safely just by using standard manual testing. I do have an aquacontroller jr, which I have never set up and think I will look at using that as well, but my initial focus is on seeing if it is possible to set up the reactor with using the minimum amount of supporting equipment.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Bueller? Bueller?

I have no suggestions, I don't trust my manual testing when compared to a computer. Pinpoints are relatively cheap and I'd rather use them then take the risk.

Edited by SeanCallan

I haven't actually set up a calcium reactor before, but I read a couple detailed threads on how to do it. Search the forums on calcium reactor setup and tuning. I believe it was Chip (flowerseller) that provided the detailed how-to.

From my recollection, I think you're going to want to fire up that AC Jr. and at least use the pH probe to control the pH of the reaction chamber (be sure to calibrate the pH probe). From my understanding, this is primarily what controls the amount of calcium that is dissolved into the water. It's a delicate balancing act between low enough to get the calcium to dissolve but not so low that it drags down the overall pH of the tank. For this reason, many people use 2 pH probes - 1 to measure the pH of the effluent and 1 to meaure the overall pH of the tank. You may find that in order to keep the pH of the tank up, you'll need to increase evaporation (usually by adding fans) so you can dose more kalk.

Good thread on tuning a calcium reactor: