New to WAMAS and the Reef hooby

DarthPaul

Hello all!

I am a new member to WAMAS and new to the SW hobby as well. Although new to SW I have plenty of experience in FW/ highgrowth planted tanks. currently breeding Honglsloi II Apistos...but on to the SW talk

Being new to the SW end of the hobby I chose to start somewhat small...I purchased the 24G AquaPod from Current. I know that the bigger the you go the more leeway you tend to have when problems arrive .......but I am used to normal water changes and proper care of water quality etc. and would rather start small and learn the in-&-outs before dumping the $1000000000s....into my dream set-up for my first tank. I do think I am spending my money wisely in the fact that other thanthe sand I will be able to use all my equipment I have/purchased for this first tank on any tank I plan on getting in the future.

Some tid bits about the tank:

24g Aquapod

standard PC lighting(32w reg/32w all acitnic)(DIY upgrade in future for more light)

Upgraded return pump to maxijet 1200, Stock pump is being used in tank for extra flow

(may have to ditch the stock pump cause it apparently getspretty warm and can throw my tempsup)

Stealth heater in sump (will be gone with light upgrade(DIY)..no need to heat)

1 Bag of Live Sand (3pd bag?) about 2-3 inch sand bed. Sugar sized argonite.

22pds Live Rock (11pds Aquarium One-Prem Fiji, 11pds Tropical Fish World Prem Fiji -tank cured)

Removed all filter media and 1/4 full 1st/overflow chamber of LR rubble-chunks(plan on light for refug)

Instant Ocean Salt, Tests= Api (Amm, Nitrate, Nitrite, KH, GH(fw only really), Phos) Seachem=(Calcium Pro set, Alk, Marine PH).