110g Elementary School

AHarp

Hi everyone! I’ve been lurking for a bit and wanted to get started with posts. I’m relatively new to saltwater, but I’ve been keeping freshwater for a few years. Last summer, I was gifted a 110 gallon tank and sump from a local middle school. I got it set up and running at my elementary school (I teach 4th grade) after hours of figuring out how it all worked. Of course after having it going for about 6 months, I had to take it apart and move it as I switched schools. Now, I’ve got it running at my new school smoothly with no problems. So far it's a huge hit with the staff, students, and PTA. In particular, the special education classes love it. It's become a daily stopping point for many students.

I’m looking to add in some nice looking showpiece fish in a month or so, once I'm sure the BB are handling the current bioload. Right now, I have:

• two Clarkii clownfish
  • two yellowtail damselfish
  • two Talbot’s damselfish
  • an algae blenny
  • two hitchhiker reef hermit crabs
  • 4 turbo snails

There's a little sand in the bottom and a fair bit of live rock.

The tank is filtered with a sump underneath. I have two 300W heaters in the sump. There's a KOVAL LED light on top, and it gets a bunch of sunlight from nearby bay windows. Not an ideal placement for that reason, but it didn't really fit anywhere else in the building. The back of the tank I painted black with Plastidip. I do not have a protein skimmer, but am considering a DIY model with plastic bottles, PVC, and an air pump. So far I've been feeding flakes and some freeze dried shrimp, but I do have access to a refrigerator and freezer so I could step up a bit there. The school is close enough to my house that I'll be able to stop by over extended breaks.