Help With "Limp" Coral

Guest joe ross

Guest joe ross

Hello all,

I'm new to reef systems and have had a coral for about a month now. Recently, I've had an explosive growth in reddish algae that creeped on to the coral. Since then, it seems as though the coral has been gradualling drooping to the point where it's now completely limp over some live rock. Can the algae suffocate the coral? I haven't wanted to touch the coral in fear of damaging it (to remove the algae)

I realize that my algae can be controled by using RO water (I've been using treated tap) from other posts, but I need a solution now - before I lose the coral.

I have a pretty healthy tank as far as I can tell (except the algae). I have coraline algae growing on my rock, my nitrates and ammonia are low, ... I can't figure out what might be causing this other than the algae.

Many thanks for your help in advance. I'm in awe of everything that you guys are doing and can't wait to see some of your tanks. About 15 years ago, I was a carnivore keeper (Lionfish, eels, and triggers) and now I want to get into inverts. So, any help would be apprecaited.

Joe Ross

UPDATE: Well .... I followed the "blow" advice of the first response with the baster and it decimated the coral. I'm not sure if that meant that it was already gone, but it fell to pieces with a little pressure (and the algae never came off of it to boot). Thanks for all your help. I wil definately follow the advice of going on tank tours. I would also like someone to come by and give me some advice about my setup. I have my tank in the same room as my home theater system and it's a bit loud, so I'll want some suggestions on how to quite it down (has anyone tried to enclose the cabinet in the back and add acoustic insulation?). Looking forward to meeting all of you at my first WAMAS meeting.

Edited by joe ross