HDReef's 75g First tank build

HDReef

This thread is the build thread for my wife and my 75g reef tank. First here is a little introduction to who we are. My name is Darrell; my wife Holly and I are new here at WAMAS. I have lots of experience with fresh water tanks from when I was younger but I always wanted a saltwater tank, so I spent the last couple years researching saltwater tanks and finally took the leap into the hobby.

It is a 75g reef-ready display tank and a 75g basement sump. When the system is done it will also include a 40g frag tank in the basement, plumbed to the rest of the system.

To start, we found 2 used 75g saltwater systems on Craigslist and bought those as a base to our system.

100_2544.jpg

This will be our 75g display tank. It came pre-drilled/reef-ready. This is also the location we chose for the display tank in our house. Before placing the tank here we leak-tested it outside.

100_2546.jpg

This is the equipment we received with the above tank.

100_2547.jpg

These 2 T5 2-bulb light fixtures also came with this tank. These will probably be used over the frag tank.

100_2561.jpg

This is the second 75g tank we received. We are only using the tank and it is for our sump in the basement. We are planning to sell the unused stand and canopy to help offset the costs of start up.

100_2562.jpg

This is the equipment we received with the second 75g tank.

Additional posts to follow with our progress. :)

We leak-tested the 75g tank for the sump outside when we first received it. And although we found no leaks, the inside seals looked really rough. So step one was to reseal the 75g tank for the sump.

100_2568.jpg

We started by getting our tools ready. (Rubbing alcohol added later)

100_2570.jpg