Setting up a Refugium need advice

cbashaw

I am setting up a refugium for a 20h tank.

I have a 10 gallon tank under the stand, I don't have the option of putting it above the tank.

This is what I have so far:

Maxjet 1200 as a return pump.

main tank is drilled with a bulkhead installed.

a screw in type florescent light bulb (75watts from HD)

the refugium is empty right now.

Should I put any dividers in the fuge?

What kind of substrate, and how deep should it be?

Is a 10g fuge big enough or should I just use it as a sump?

What are the best tpes of algae to put in it?

does the maxjet have the right amount of flow?

Any other suggestions?

Thanks, any help is appreciated.

I am new to WAMAS, and hope to meet everyone at the next meeting

Chris

:p

Guest tgallo

now thats a tuff question, you should setup some kind of protective baffle or some way to keep the algae  out of the pump.

how are you planning on supplying water to the fuge, i see you will use a maxijet for a return.

there are many ways to do it, hopefully more members will chime in.

A 10 gallon refuge for a 20 gallon tank should be more than enough.  You want to leave room though in case the power goes out so your fuge will not flood.  This is a combo of leaving enough room in the refuge for the display tank overflow to stop flowing...  You also want to drill a hole in your return just below the water line in your display tank so you break the syphon in a power out situation.

I do not use baffles or sections in my refuge, but my setup is very different.  In your case you might want to have a set of baffles to take care of any potential bubbles, keep macros/sand out of your pump and give your pump a chamber to sit in. Maybe there is another way you could do this and not take up space with baffles.