Hoping to jump from FW to SW

Hello WAMAS,

I've been keeping freshwater fish for a bit over seven years, not including the 10g I had growing up.

My current tank is a 75G with an Amphilophus trimaculatus. I hope to get him in a 6' tank this summer once I can expand my space a bit. Sometime this year I hope to expand into saltwater too. I can't wait to read up more on the info here and hopefully get to meet some of you next month! Will be joining the official forum ranks soon. $20 is a small investment for such large gains. I haven't been in the hobby long but I do appreciate that it's not an entirely solitary endeavor.

The goal would be to have a tank cycled by the end of the year. If there's anything I learned in the freshwater hobby is it's best to do something right the first time and be patient. I want to start with a 90+ gallon tank (preferably a 6' 125 or larger), with a designated QT, and the ability to make easy waterchanges. My current locale isn't good on space so until then I'll absorb knowledge like a sponge.

Other than browsing the topics and journals on here, does anybody have any websites or literature (I would love a book with pictures!) they would recommend? The amount of information available is a bit overwhelming and, while techniques need to be adjusted for individual tanks, I'd like to learn about standard practices to start from.

To make this post somewhat pretty here's my Trimac named Ragnar (yes, I broke the Cardinal rule of not naming fish, but he's a wet-pet).

RFTHDGe.jpg

RMPOCSa.jpg

I hope I'm not breaking two rules of the forums 1) Posting a picture of a FW fish and 2) the fake plant in the tank! This is the first time I've had a fake plant in any tank I've owned. Had to see if I like the green. I think it's coming out next waterchange.

Thanks!

Edited by Aquastudent