Need some help with a DIY wet/Dry

madmax7774

I need a hobby buddy! I have just aquired a 75 gallon acrylic tank with 1 overflow, and I am going to get started with setting it up at home. Budget is limited of course, and I managed to get my hands on a free 30 gallon glass tank to use a as a DIY wet/dry filter and sump. I am handy with wood, and other hobby things, and am going to build my own stand to house the tank and filter. I specifically am looking for plans or help designing the wet/dry filter. The tank is going to be a REEF tank, and will be built from the get-go with metal-halide lights, and possibly a store bought protein skimmer in the sump / wet/dry. I am not very experienced at this, but what I lack in knowledge, I will make up with blind enthusiasm. I have been learning on a 30 gallon FOWLR tank at my office. So far I haven't killed anything, but am currently suffering from a miserable brown algae bloom. (but that's another story)So does anyone have the desire, knowledge, and interest to help me build a wet/dry?

John

:77:

What you really need is a buddy to talk you out of running a wet/dry.

Fine for FOWLR but not in a reef.

Wet / Dry or Mech filters = lots and lots of Nitrates

ok, I can respect that, but then what do I need for the reef tank as far as filtration?

Do I still use the 30 gallon glass tank underneath?

Do I just use a protein skimmer then?

At this point, I am a bit beyond my knowledge level. Any help would be greatly apprecaited!

ok, a sump with baffles in it. Is this the same concept as a refugium? I suspect that I am getting wet/dry confused with sump / confused with refugium. What I really need is to understand what is the best way to go with the 2 tanks I have for the purposes of having a reef tank at home.