45 cube build help

YHSublime

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to using sumps/pumps/and overall general reef tank setup. This is why I started with a Biocube, as everything I needed was tiny enough to keep simple.

I'm not familiar with overflow boxes, or protien skimmers, and reactors.

A lot of you are veterans in this saltwater world, and I'd really love some advice on how to setup this new cube. I would love explanations of what you suggest, and why. If you could go back and do it all over again, how would you do it?

I'd like to start with what type of overflow you think I should go with, and why. Somebody recomended a Coast to Coast.

Pictures are a bonus, I'm very visual.

I will use this thread to help answer my questions as I go along, and I expect I will have many, I look forward to all the help and suggestions!

DSC_0263_zps05701908.jpg

First question is, are you willing to drill the tank?

Yes

Tank already looks drilled...

Correct, this might help:

DSC_0268_zpsc5a5e31b.jpg

DSC_0265_zpsae5fcee3.jpg

Is that an intercom box near the tank? Seems as if you have an electrical panel nearby too, are you going to be using a canopy?

That is an intercom box, Right by the fuse box. I plan on hanging my LED's from the ceiling, keeping the top open.

x2

DSC_0264_zpsbb6e0bb2.jpg

Shower rod test

DSC_0263_2_zps195050fc.jpg

You don't need an overflow, just get a few slip elbows with strainers and slide them into your bulkheads...

I would consider a cover of some sort for your intercom, just to prevent salt spray/accidents from getting it wet...

As far as sump, get the biggest size reservoir that will fit in the stand...rubbermaid, fish tank, fancy sump, whatever you choose...more room the better...

Could I just put strainers on the holes, one drains, one returns?

You could, but I would think you would want your water level higher than that.

Oh right. Thats where the slip elbows come in, right?