Refugiums

emissary

So I've been doing saltwater for several years now but haven't done a refugium yet....and I'm about to have one. Wondering what you guys put in yours. Good macro seems like cheato, feather caulerpa. Regular live sand? What's this "miracle mud" about?

Also...

I've been reading a bit about dissolved oxygen content in the "real reef." As you'd expect available dissolved oxygen peaks in the afternoon as the algae has had some time to produce some. Given that this swing happens in the ocean -- does it still make sense to run refugium lights with an intverted cycle? This'll help stabilize pH and dissolved oxygen... but does it make it MORE like the real reef, or less like it?

Pointers to good reads would be greatly appreciated.

I can't point you to any good reads on it other than on RC or about.com. I have regular live sand in mine and some small pieces of live rock for the pods to colonize. I'm getting ready to put some chaeto in soon. I'm running the lights on the same cycle as the tank lights.

Great questions. Make for a long post- sorry.