My new frag tank!

russell_wiley

My new frag tank came in today! It was made by a guy from ebay who auctions them off. This one cost me more in shipping than what I won the auction for. It is 19.25"x14"x8" which is 7.5ish gallons (I think). It will have a 30 gallon sump. The rest, I am not so sure about. Will a 70w MH work over it? It has a 1" drain & a 3/4" return. What size return pump would be best?

Thanks,

Russ

post-2631511-1260997762_thumb.jpg

Hey Russell, I would think that the 70W would be just fine, but it may not give you enough coverage unless you have a good reflector. I run 400W bulbs in Lumenarc III reflectors and they could easily cover that tank footprint, but I don't know that any of the 70W ones will cover that. Any thoughts on going up to a 150W bulb that will cover more? I just think that you won't find a good reflector for a 70W bulb and if you do, it'll probably not be worth it overall... Keep in mind I have no experience with 70W bulbs, but I do have a 150HQI that gets minimal coverage over a school tank and am thinking of moving it off and using it over a 15 gallon high instead.

70 watt MH is plenty of light for your frag tank. My pico is 8" deep and I get amazing growth and color in SPS and LPS with my 70 watt MH. I started out with only 36 watt PC's but didn't get the color until I switched to the 70 watt MH.

Right now I have a 70watt viper on my 10 gallon planted tank. It's 12" deep and I'm getting great growth and color in just 10 days.

My new frag tank came in today! It was made by a guy from ebay who auctions them off. This one cost me more in shipping than what I won the auction for. It is 19.25"x14"x8" which is 7.5ish gallons (I think). It will have a 30 gallon sump. The rest, I am not so sure about. Will a 70w MH work over it? It has a 1" drain & a 3/4" return. What size return pump would be best?

Thanks,

Russ

Edited by Jan