Happyfeet 44 Gal

Hello everyone I'm Mike, and I'm pretty new around here. I've been getting great advice from everyone on the forum. I'm new to saltwater aquariums so I needed a lot of advice! I'm finally all moved into my new place and my internet has been installed! woohoo.

I figured I'd post some pictures of my tank(work in progress) so everyone can see how I'm doing.

FishTank001.jpg

FishTank002.jpg

It took a lot of effort to get the overflow box to run quietly and even more work to get my sump to run quietly.

FishTank003.jpg

Since my tank is still in the initial cycle I may drain the sump and silicone in some baffles because I'm getting some air bubbles in the main display tank.

Plan on heading out to FF sunday to pick up some sand.

Hi Mike. Looks like it's coming along.

Is it just the angle, or are you not running a standpipe of any sort in the backside of your overflow box? If not, I suspect that you're using that ball valve to set the overflow level? An alternative that might work a little more consistently might be a DIY Stockman standpipe or a Maggie Muffler. As I recall, the back of a CPR overflow is a bit tight for a Durso standpipe.

Hi Mike. Looks like it's coming along.

Is it just the angle, or are you not running a standpipe of any sort in the backside of your overflow box? If not, I suspect that you're using that ball valve to set the overflow level? An alternative that might work a little more consistently might be a DIY Stockman standpipe or a Maggie Muffler. As I recall, the back of a CPR overflow is a bit tight for a Durso standpipe.

Yup, you would be correct using the ball to regulate the flow. I was actually reading up on the stockman sandpipe, I haven't heard of the Maggie Muffler before. I'll have to look into that, The girlfriend is about to throw it out of the window because of the noise.