Wall Studs....

Guest mikesroth

Guest mikesroth

Ok, I am trying to put in my MH Pendant lighting.  That being said I have never done anything like this before so I want to make sure I am doing this right, and not just going to make holes in my ceiling/walls. :)  Went out purchased a Stud Finder, now the point of this thing is to find the Metal on the wall studs? (not quite sure how it works)  So if I am correct, if it goes off it has found Metal, and I dont want to drill there?  Also, by using the stud finder I should be able to trace the whole stud in thh wall/ceiling?  The reason I ask is because about where I would like the lamp the finder goes off, but I can't seem to figure out which direction it is heading. :)

Well, any ideas, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Mike,

Stud finder found  :D

hehe, sorry! The stud finder usually work by finding solid background, aka 2x4's (Wood or metal) to screw into. Run slow across the wall and you should get a reading depending on how it signals and that's about it! K.I.S.S. situation applies.

rafters and wall studs are usually on 16" centers meaning that one board is now in place and the next one starts 16" after the beginning of the second. If you find one board, go over 16" and should find another and so on.

Howard

Guest mikesroth

Well I tried it on me, and it defnitley worked, however, Jen didnt think that was very funny. <shrugs>

I guess what I am worried about is I think I found a spot I can use, but it only sets the meter off in like a 3 inch area with nothing running in either direction.  Kinda worried that I might be drilling/screwing into something bad. :)  I think it doesnt help that the paint on the ceiling is textured so the studfinder doesnt move across it smoothly.

<sigh> I knew I should have stayed awake in shop class. :D

Mike,