Return Pump too Powerfull (noise and micro-bubble

elm66

Good day,

I am new to the hobby and bought a complete 120 gallons tank from a local person that decided to exit the hobby after loosing most of his corals. The 120gallons as a sump/filter (bioballs/ceramics) in the stand below. Today the return sump pump stopped functionning. I tried to find the specs without much success. It was a pond pump purchased at Lowes and not sold anymore, anywhere.

I called a LFS and was told that a MAG-12 would be adequate for my tank size. I connected it and got two problems:

* the spashing noise is extremely high

* a lot of microbubbles across the tank.

I, therefore, have 2 questions:

1. Is this pump too powerfull for the tank

2. Is there a way to reduce the noise and the amount of bubbles generated. Syphon proof is a requirement.

I would appreciate any help on thta matter.

Thank you

Eric

Good day,

eric-

is the pump submerged in the sump, or externally mounted

Sean

I am new to the hobby and bought a complete 120 gallons tank from a local person that decided to exit the hobby after loosing most of his corals. The 120gallons as a sump/filter (bioballs/ceramics) in the stand below. Today the return sump pump stopped functionning. I tried to find the specs without much success. It was a pond pump purchased at Lowes and not sold anymore, anywhere.

I called a LFS and was told that a MAG-12 would be adequate for my tank size. I connected it and got two problems:

I, therefore, have 2 questions:

1. Is this pump too powerfull for the tank

2. Is there a way to reduce the noise and the amount of bubbles generated. Syphon proof is a requirement.

I would appreciate any help on thta matter.

Thank you

Eric

What's in your aquarium? If you've got live rock and/or a deep sand bed then the bioballs and ceramics aren't necessary. I'd remove them from your sump gradually over the course of a few weeks.