29g Biocube Cycling?

rain

Hi everyone. I have a new Coralife 29 biocube. It's been up for a few weeks now cycling with live rock and sand from another larger tank. I'm new to this hobby and am a bit stuck now. I am at 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites but nitrates are high. I already had the big algae bloom too. I did a decent size water change and nitrates went down but now are creeping back up. What should be my next steps? Am I just waiting for nitrates to come down to 0. I appreciate the help!! Also I have the intank media basket with chemi pure elite and purigen. No protein skimmer or fuge yet. Thank you!

You don't have to worry about the nitrates to much. What are they at? Do water changes to bring it down, but don't stress out over them. It sounds like your cycle is over, you should have seem nitrite, ammonia, then 0 on both of the prior while seeing nitrates, which is what you're at now. You can wait a little bit longer to make sure, but whatever you do, just stock slowly to increase your bioload. You're not going to be throwing a whole bunch into 29 gallons, so take it easy at first!

Oh ok... I did get the ammonia spike, then the nitrite spike, and now nitrates. I got nitrates down to around 40 but can't seem to get them any lower so far. I definitely want to go slow. I don't have anything yet. So maybe I could start with a clean up crew? My first fish I'm interested in would be a young pair of the basic ocellaris clowns. Recommendations on what to do first? Thank you!!

Oh ok... I did get the ammonia spike, then the nitrite spike, and now nitrates. I got nitrates down to around 40 but can't seem to get them any lower so far. I definitely want to go slow. I don't have anything yet. So maybe I could start with a clean up crew? My first fish I'm interested in would be a young pair of the basic ocellaris clowns. Recommendations on what to do first? Thank you!!