New Member/Need help setting up

Guest jamjam_77

Guest jamjam_77

I just signed up as a new member and I am also new to this whole area Im living in Sterling I moved here from Colorado a few months ago.

I was doing some reading at Reef Central when I discovered this site.

I have a 55 gallon setup that I cycled with about 50 lbs of LR for about 7 weeks. It's all cycled now just haven't put in anything beside a couple of hermit crabs. Bottom is still bare.

I have:

2 small powerheads

300 or 350 watt heater

4 x 55W compact fluorescents 2 actinic blues and 2 white

seaclone skimmer (unfortunately I wish I had read reviews on it before I bought it)

404 Fluval canister (Not connected just used it to clean the bottom of the tank)

Now here's my fustration, I came across a 75 gal that someone got rid of, it has a hole at the corner bottom and what appears to be a internal overflow.

So I got to thinking (thats where I went wrong) and decided that I wanted to upgrade. I came across a 75 gallon setup for $325 I only wanted the stand and canopy but the diffrence from not getting the tank was only $10, they also threw in a 10 gal and a tall 20 gallon. So now I have two 75 gallon tanks along with a 55 gallon tank and 2 setups and a couple of small tanks.

So this is what I want to do, I want to use the 75 gallon that already has a hole and add another hole to it since it only has one which I thought was weird. I also want to get a sump/refugium.

I dont know how to set this up, I dont know who drills holes or even what size I needed it to be. I dont know how I should do this sump either or how to do the plumbing, or even what size pumps I'm going to need.

I do know that I wont be needing one of the 75 gallon tanks or the 55 gallon tank/stand/canopy. So I could probably trade or sell them.

I'm becoming fustrated, I've even thought of just going out and buying a new 75 or a 90 gallon reef ready tank, but my quiet wife will soon not be so quiet!!!