Selecting Salt Type

Guest Sachin

Guest Sachin

I have been using Instant Ocean

I was wonder if this brand is better than any other

I was told from a friend that Crystal Reef is better if you have Coral

Is that true, if so does that mean it is also better for fish as well or just coral?

Please let me know

if you have a favorite one or have better luck with one vs another type of salt mix

thank you

Sachin

I've been using instant ocean for about 15 years now, since I first tried salt in my old 55 gal. I've had great success with it. I've been told the same BS about this mix is better than this one, it all about what works best for you. The biggest reason I like instant ocean is that it doesn't cloud up the water at all.

Deepblue

Guest alex wlazlak

i like it too, and its the cheapest isnt it?

I use Instant Ocean also, like the old saying weve heard a million times goes, If it aint broke, dont fix it...

I think the real issue is cost and then not changing what you are using with each new buy of salt- I use IO as it was widely available and reasonable in quantity. So I will stay with it just to keep the system a bit more stable- lots of horror stories about changing salt mixes with too large of a water change- same stories about light changes- Right Chip?

Guest clownfish4

I have been using IO since I began this hobby almost two years ago. Like others have said, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it!!!"

Yes Lee, I'm still feeling the effects of that.

One thing to remember is how you handle and store the salt you use.

That applies to any salt mix

I recently bought a bunch of 200# boxes of IO. I cleaned out my IO bucket and dried it really well and poured the 4 50#bags from the box into it so I can store it, and store it dry. If you don't use a bucket, spin the bag and seal it like you would bread.

A little moisture goes a long way when it comes to salt. As a matter of fact, that little bit of moisture can possibly ruin a bag of salt or batch of sea water.