Arc Fault Ciruit Braker VS. GFCI Outlets. What is the Difference?

I am a contractor and I know that the new electrical codes require that all bedroom areas be put on ground arc ciruit brakers. I have talked to several electricians and the answer I get from them is ddaa. My question is what are the advantages of Ground Arc vs. GFCI regarding the reef system? Is there a possiblility that you could put a GFCI outlet on a ground arc ciruit and increase your protection? :why: The gound arc circuit brakers are not cheap, running at about $50.00 each, but a few extra bucks for added protection would be worth it to me.

I found this link. It's pretty interesting. We recently installed 2 20 amps breaker and the outlets that connects to them are GFCI. Now I'm thinking that we might have to install these instead.

http://www.askthebuilder.com/320_New_Arc_F...e_Of_Mind.shtml

Thanks for the link. I am still confused as to whether just putting my reef system on a ground arc circuit is the safest way to go or whether the GFCI outlets does provide some sort of additional protection that the ground arc braker does not. :why:

(edited)

I have talked to several electricians and the answer I get from them is ddaa.

Would seems like we could currupt a line from Kelly's Heros to answer this one -

"I don't know what makes 'em work, I just install 'em"

Arc Fault sense an arc in the wire, an intermittent short condition. A GFCI compares the inbound & outbound legs of the circuit - in the event of a mismatch it trips. The mismatch can occur without an arc condition (i.e. you as the path to ground). Example you're a nice path to ground with your hand in the tank - is this an arc? Nope = no trip on the arc fault breaker = you may die. For a GFCI this does cause a trip = you live.