Questions about fragging soft leather corals

zobey

I am new to keeping a reef system (have kept many fish only tanks for years) and was wondering if anyone can help me out with a few things .....

(1) How do I frag a leather toadstool as it grows and I want it to spread a little? I was told by the store I got it from that all I have to do is cut off a piece with a razor blade and attatch to a rock with a rubber band to hold it in place until it adheres. How large of a piece do I need to cut off and do I have to cut it all the way to the base? Do I have to take any kind of precautions to aid in healing the cut areas?

(2) Same question as above but for mushrooms - disc anemones ???

and lastly .....

(3) Can anyone in the area spare some small frags of easy to keep (desireable) corals to help get me started - I live in Haymarket, VA but my work takes me on a regular basis throughout the Baltimore/Washington regional area. Any help in this area sure would be appreciated!

Thanks to anyone who can help out.

120 gallon reef tank (4L x 3T x 1.5 W)

6 TEK T5 Lights (variety of actinic, actinic+, midday, aquablue)

Live Rock, thick sand bed, wet/dry sump, UV, protien skimmer

System has been running for about 3 months.

1) rubber bands fine, but need to play the balance game or too tight vs. not enough pressure. Or you can wedge it between 2 rocks and let it adhere that way.

2) I usually put mushrooms in a shallow container of rubble or aragonite, with netting (thule? wedding veil stuff) above to hold them in. After attched to the gravel, I glue that to larger rocks.

3) LMK if you are in Purcellville, I will give you some.

1) rubber bands fine, but need to play the balance game or too tight vs. not enough pressure. Or you can wedge it between 2 rocks and let it adhere that way.