Macro lens

baio44

I just got an Olympus E-450 DSLR and I'm looking to purchase a macro lens. I am a beginner and I'm looking to take basic good macro shots of my corals. What size is a safe bet? Not sure between 35mm, 60 and 100mm (and not sure difference). Going to the store tomorrow to learn more, but any thoughts would be helpful.

Jeff

I just got an Olympus E-450 DSLR and I'm looking to purchase a macro lens. I am a beginner and I'm looking to take basic good macro shots of my corals. What size is a safe bet? Not sure between 35mm, 60 and 100mm (and not sure difference). Going to the store tomorrow to learn more, but any thoughts would be helpful.

Jeff

I'm a long time Olympus user, currently have an E330 and E620. The best bang for the buck is the Olympus 35mm f3.5 macro. Though depending on your lighting might not be fast enough for handheld shots (the 450 doesn't have image stabilzation right?). It's very sharp and under $200. The Olympus 50mm f2 macro is an excellent lens, but runs in the $450 range. You'll have to go with Sigma if you want anything more powerful they've got nice 105mm and 150mm macro's that are very nice in the $500 and $700 range.

Of the above lenses I only have the 35mm macro, and can say it's as good as the reviews on the web say it is. Have you tried the kit lenses out? You might be surprised what you can do on the long telephoto end with sufficient distance.

You might also want to check other Photography sites, Dpreview is excellent.

Pete

• 2 weeks later...

So I ended buying the 35mm f3.5. The pics are looking good (not great), so I have some questions. I am turing off all powerheads and moving the subject to the front of the tank. Is there a good way to add lighting? How about a tripod since some of the images are blurry when enlarged. How do you guys take your macro shots?

I'll post some pics soon.

Thanks!

Jeff

• 1 month later...

So I ended buying the 35mm f3.5.