Newbie needs help with equipment decision

Guest mmcaleer

Guest mmcaleer

All,

I am new to WAMAS and I have decided to take the plunge and start a salt tank.  I have a 55 gallon (would like a larger one if anyone has one to sell) and want to start a fish and live rock only tank.  I would prefer to have the equipment (skimmer) under the tank in a sump.

1st.  What brand skimmers are a reasonable buy (~$150) and are worth the money?  I have been looking at the AquaC Urchin for in sump use.  Used would be OK.

2nd.  Does anyone have a sump to sell?  Or, should I purchase one or use a 10 gallon tank from Walmart?  Also, should I use bioballs in the sump or not?

Unfortunately I cannot make the meeting this weekend, I will be out of town.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Gainesville, VA

1st.  What brand skimmers are a reasonable buy (~$150) and are worth the money?  I have been looking at the AquaC Urchin for in sump use.  Used would be OK.

Tough in that price range & for anything over a 55. As a general rule you can cut the rated performance of a skimmer in 1/2 (i.e. rated for 300 = 150 actual). Used is a good idea, can certainly save you a few buck. The AquaC is a good skimmer for the price & size tank you mentioned.

2nd.  Does anyone have a sump to sell?  Or, should I purchase one or use a 10 gallon tank from Walmart?  Also, should I use bioballs in the sump or not?

A DIY sump from a tank is certainly an economical approach, if you've done any web searching you'll know they ain't cheap. With a FOWLR tank you can run the bio-balls, just be advised that you'll need to remove them if you decide to add corals (they can be a nitrate factory). I'd skip them, add more skimmer & some mechanical filtration (carbon etc. in the sump) - that way you won't have to remove them later. IF you decide to purchase a sump check Barr Aquatic - he can help you determine the size needed for the expected flow.

would like a larger one