Best means to get my calcium fix?

Guest Edwardj

Guest Edwardj

I am fairly new to this, and have decided I want to try to make things as simple as possible. A peaceful house is much more likely too when I don't have as much equipment or spend as much time "maintaining." So, I have used kalkwasser - very rudimentary setup. I use a 5 gallon bucket, mix in the powder, wait, and then slow drip it into the sump. I use a 3/8" rigid line, with a plastic check valve slightly cracked, start a siphon, and let it go. I am nervous though about spilling this apparently caustic concoction, or the tube being pulled out and spilling my ro/di Kalked water all over.

I have been talking and reading, and I have some assumptions. I am leaning towards a retail calcium reactor. I'd like to see if my assumptions are in line with the conventional wisdom on these matters.

First, calcium reactor vs. Kalk reactors.

Calcium reactor: To the positive: The substrate used will essentially give me all the calcium and most trace elements I need, assuming it is set up correctly. It seems that ONCE it is initially set up, it runs pretty well on its own. There is little to no risk of "poisoning" my tank, for the system will only make enough calcium as the PH can handle - so I can focus less on "alkalinity" and buffers. The media is cheap, and last for a long time (depending on the hunger of the system, of course).

On the Negative: The reactor needs a CO2 source, which is most often supplied with CO2 gas. The gas is not prohibitively expensive, but the regulator, solenoid, tank, ph sensor, (optional calcium sensor and/or controller) can get quite pricey. Counting bubbles can be a little dicey.

Kalk reactor: Kalkwasser, essentially calcium hydroxide, can be mixed with RO/DI water, to produce calcium that can be dripped into the sump. The positive: the Reactor is much cheaper, because there is no CO2 equipment to deal with.