Hard coral doctor

Guest greenthumb

Guest greenthumb

Howard, Steve, Rob, anyone,

As you are aware, maybe, I am caring for quite a few corals for a friend. They have been without light for almost a month. The softies are okay, red & blue mushrooms, several zoo colonies, lg hammer but needs fragging, and frog spawn. A large selection of Phils private stock of large Acros, millaporas, pocillopora, a 9" stag horn, a very nice Eflo, SOMETHING THAT IS CALLED A SUPERMAN, and a formosa. They are in need of help. I am trying my best, but I am new with hard stuff and I probably mispelled a few of them. I've been timid with making hard coral purchases, but I felt sick when I saw these. I made Ron give them to me for looking after so he would not loose the whole lot even though he lost about 4-5 nice acros already. I can care for the softies well enough and I now have MH for the others. But, what would you do for them if they have been without light for a month and when you look at them you want to toss your cookies.

Is it true that once they start dying, there is no recovery, should the large ones be fragged and the dead stuff removed. What do you look for to tell if a piece is lost? Can you frag a piece and save it, if it still has color? Are there smells I should look for? Will nitrite levels be detected? Should I keep the softies seperate? I need a body of someone who can take some time to tell me what will, might, or could happen. I have some of my own live stock that I could trade for some advice and your time if you can make a visit.

What to do? Besides tossing cookies!!!!

Thanks,

Michelle

Michelle,

Corals without lights are basically being starved to death!

The lights are actually creating food for corals. IF this is the only thing that you done that is creating the problem, than you could probably save them by getting them under light ASAP.