Building new 29 Gallon sump/fuge - Sanity check please (with pics)

Guest FZ1Rider

Guest FZ1Rider

Repost from RC, looking for more advice:

Below are two plans that I have been thinking about for a new sump / fuge. I have never built one before and I'm still not sure I'm headed in the right direction after reading melve's site a few times.

Here are the two plans. On both water would flow under the "IN" section and then rise through the carbon chamber. I won't always have carbon but I like the idea of having a place to force water through carbon if needed.

The max water level will be 13 inches as set by the baffles.

I run a hang on tank skimmer now and am able to fit it into my overflow box so it's not noticeable. I may upgrade in the future but I may not so I don't know if it's worth having the skimmer section. Plus I am very height limited under my stand (22 inches max.) but I have seen a few skimmers that have 6x10 footprints and under 22inchs (obviously with a drain spout). of course a third option would be to go with option 1 and just make both area's fuges and then change it if I need to later without the need to shut it down and add components.

The biggest question is just having the one set of baffles enough and having the others as overflows or do I need to add more baffles.

All input is greatly appreciated.

Option 1:

skimandfuge.jpg

Option 2:

1bigfuge.jpg

Another idea I just had would be to spill the out section and have 2 pieces of egg crate separate them so I could ad a sponge or other sort of filter for large particles. Would that be worth it?

Thanks

Peter