WAMAS Tank of the Month

Hey what’s up WAMAS! It is a huge honor to be highlighted as the TOTM. I grew up with WAMAS…I first signed up for the forum back in 12/18/2003, and I have learned and gained a tremendous amount through this club. In fact, most of my setup and corals come from other WAMAS members.

My current display is a 45g tank measuring 24”x24”x18” that has been running for two years. Since this is my first tank after a long break, I wanted a small tank that is more manageable. This is also my first tank to have a sump, as well as my first tank to use RO/DI water. I had been using tap water for 10+ years prior to getting back into the hobby, and better water has made a huge difference.

Water movement in this tank is provided by half of a Gyre XF-130 (took off one side) and a Jebao RW-4. The return pump is a Jebao DCT. I was a bit hesitant with the cheaper powerhead and return pump, but so far they’re holding up well.

I am running a Radion G3 with wide angle lenses. I am merely content with the light - not a big fan of the disco ball effect and I wish there was less shadowing. I am considering adding T5 to help with these issues, but I may end up just upgrading the whole system. I am running a 24w LED grow light over the sump, and I’m very happy with the cheato growth so far.

For filtration I am running a SWC-120 skimmer and two blocks of MarinePure (8”x8”x4” and 8”x8”x1”). I also run a media reactor that either has GFO or carbon depending on the situation. Sometimes I use a 200 micron filter sock for a few days if I see detritus in the water column. My live rock is BRS Pukani dry rock, which I highly recommend.

I dose kalk through my ATO, and sometimes I dose SeaChem Eight.Four to raise alk if the alk is the only thing that’s low. I try to perform a 10% water change every other week with Red Sea Coral Pro salt to replenish trace elements.