WAMAS Tank of the Month

First of all, I would like to thank the WAMAS community for the help and support on this awesome close-knit forum. Second, I am honored to start this New Year as January TOTM. I have been keeping freshwater fish for over thirty years but never thought of crossing over to saltwater until five years ago. In 2010, I decided to set up a 10 gallon half-moon FOWLR, and the rest is history.

My current setup consists of two display tanks, a 210g (84x24x24) and a 93g cube (30x30x25). Both display tanks share a common, two-tank sump made from a 90g and a 100g stock tank. The system is located in my unfinished basement. The displays are built in-wall with a small fish room in the back for easy maintenance and to hide my fish equipment.

My setup is configured for two Mag18 return pumps, but currently I’m only running one of them. I think one mag18 provides sufficient return flow, and the lower flow through the sumps allows my skimmer to perform more efficiently. The 210g display has a Jebao WP-60 at 50% on each rear corner, and a Tunze 6045 in the center of the tank. The 93g cube has a Jebao WP-40 running full blast for circulation.

I have six 120W and one 180W LED fixture hanging above my setup. These are mixture of Evergrow and low-end LEDs, and run from 1130am to 930pm. I bought my first 4 fixtures back in the day when reefers were skeptical as to whether LEDs can grow corals. I took a chance back then and I’ve been extremely happy with them. Worth every penny!

My sump consists of two parts. Water drains from the display tanks and enters a 90g sump filled with live rock and rubble. The 90 g sump drains into a 100g stock tank, which contains my ASM G5 skimmer and a 5g bucket of chaeto. The bucket has large holes on the side toward the bottom for the water to flow through.

I use kalkwasser via an AVAST kalk stirrer to maintain alkalinity. I also manually dose BRS two-part whenever needed to keep up with the additional demand.