Flow questions for future 265 build

Newbie012000

Hello everyone. I have previous experience with fish only tanks and poor unsuccessful prior experience with reef tanks due to lack of patience when things become frustrating and no quarantine practices and life in general. Therefore, I am new to this hobby, but have decided to get back into the hobby and take my time and do everything properly this go around.

I have acquired a new Marineland 265 gallon tank with two overflows on both sides of the rear of the tank. There are two holes in each overflow that all measure 1”, for a total for 4 1” holes.

When I set up the tank (April/May this year), I plan to use pukani dry rock (cooked for two months)

Based upon the research I have done, I need a return pump to pump approx 5x to 10x gph flow/turnover through the tank. I also read that a 1” hole/drain will allow approx 600 gph of water to drain via gravity and that a 1” return line can handle on avg 2220 gph.

Would there be any problems with me using three of the holes as drain lines allowing approx 1800 (approx 6 X turn over) or should I use all 4 as drains to allow 2400 gph through the drain lines?

Also, would one 1” return be sufficient for this build? My research say that a 1” return can handle an avg 2200 on the return (so perhaps I would have to throttle back some of the drain lines) so that The sump would not be overwhelmed by 2400 gph rate through the drains. Hope this makes sense.

I was planning to have a 1” return line split into a T and then have two one inche returns feed into the tank.

Please share your thoughts. I hope this was written clearly enough

Don't get hung up on sump turnover if it's going to cause a headach. I would put your minimum sump turnover at 0.75x as the real floor.