Boret's 92g Corner Tank.

Boret

Hi there.

A few weeks back I acquired a 92 gallon corner glass tank and stand. The tank measures 34" from the corner to the front and it is a perfect 1/4 circle.

So far I tested the tank for leaks, sanded and repainted the stand I have been acquiring misc. pieces of equipment.

I also built a canopy for it.

It is my first attempt at building something and it is definitely tough to do.

gallery_2631272_242_184317.jpggallery_2631272_242_293396.jpg

gallery_2631272_242_44722.jpg

I took the canopy down and took it to a friend's house where he has a router and a table saw to improve the woodwork and finish the sides. It is a first attempt and will probably work further on it, but at least I got to play with the powertools and I have a better idea of what I want for the canopy.

I also have the following items for the build:

1" Sea Swirl

1 SCWD

1 Little Giant 4-MDQX-SC 1325 GPH, 1/10 HP

4 way Oceans Motions

My first design brainstorm has to be the whole close loop design. I have looked at Dan's 54 corner build to get some ideas, I am also following other builds (Carl's, tbittner's, davelin's, etc...). I like the uncluttered look of the close loop but this is my main dilema:

Option 1 - Drill everything (2 overflow holes [one for CL the other to Sump] and 4 returns, 2 mid tank and 2 close to the bottom close to the front glass)

gallery_2631272_242_144148.jpg

Option 2 - Only drill the Overflows and the 2 mid returns from CL, and run 2 1" PVC pipes going in from the corner down to the bottom of the tank and run them all the way to the front.

gallery_2631272_242_197063.jpg

I am afraid that drilling very low in the side of the tank is asking for trouble. If one of the bulkheads was to fail/crack/leak it will completely empty the tank with no option whatsoever to stop it. If that happens to the mid holes its only half the water volume.