How do you keep track of pH, KH, Ca and Mg?

A.ocellaris

(edited)

Hi,

I've been reading about how important is to keep parameters stable, but it's very hard to know where you currently are with normal test kits like API or Salifert. Like I can be testing pH 2-4 times a day but the API scale is not helpful. The same with KH, I would like to know how it changes by the day so that I know when to worry and prevent any stressful situation to my creatures.

Is there a device that you guys use to keep track of these parameters? Are they very expensive? Is it possible to log the results maybe every hour? I feel like I want to know what's happening in my tank :). My temp and salinity (thanks to the ATO system) are very stable. I am not sure about my pH (mostly 8.0) and I know it changes during the day, but how much of a change is the question. 

pd. I am kind of new at reef chemistry :) Reading as much as I can...

Thanks

Edited by A.ocellaris

I just read this... wow !

How much buffering does your tank need? Most aquarium buffering capacity test kits actually measure KH. The larger the KH, the more resistant to pH changes your water will be. 

I didn't even know KH was the "buffer"

Hi,

I've been reading about how important is to keep parameters stable, but it's very hard to know where you currently are with normal test kits like API or Salifert. Like I can be testing pH 2-4 times a day but the API scale is not helpful. The same with KH, I would like to know how it changes by the day so that I know when to worry and prevent any stressful situation to my creatures.

Is there a device that you guys use to keep track of these parameters? Are they very expensive? Is it possible to log the results maybe every hour? I feel like I want to know what's happening in my tank :). My temp and salinity (thanks to the ATO system) are very stable. I am not sure about my pH (mostly 8.0) and I know it changes during the day, but how much of a change is the question.