Kalkeasser and dosing. Do you need both?

arking_mark

So before I started dosing, all my top off was kalkwasser with carbon (vinegar). However, I found that even with 12% weekly water changes and kalkeasser top off, my parameters, while acceptable never really let my tank flourish. Parameters for the big 3 were 8dkh, 400 calc, 1220 mag. Also, ph was usually around 8.1. So I began testing and dosing the big three and everything is began flourishing. However, I never stopped the kalkwasser. So now that I graduated to a doser, can I just stop using the kalkwasser and tweak my calcium and carbonate dosing? Or is there some reason to keep kalkessser in the rotation. One reasons I am thinking of changing to RO/DI with carbon (vinegar) is to lower my PH which is now running a little high around 8.4.

You really don't need both. Plenty of very successful tanks are run without kalkwasser.

Sent from my LG-V510 using Tapatalk

i thought about mixing a tiny bit of Kalk in my ATO that way if something happened to my doser It could possibly buy me a little time to catch the problem? The thing that makes me nervous is that it's something new I haven't used and it just dumps in fast with no precise amount. Bottom line to your question is that my SPS has done excellent with drip dosing with no Kalk. Just don't manually dose the alk make sure it goes though the drip doser

I had just mixed the kalk in my ATO and it worked great. But the larger tank im going to I think will need dosing not just kalkwasser.

What I found was kalkwasser and 12% water changes were insufficient for maintaining my calcium and all in my 34gal. So I added a doser and now feel I should be able to get off the kalkwasser.