Back in the Hobby! 20 long

toastiireefs

Hi Everyone. 

This is kind of weird since I am not technically in the area anymore, but my area does not have an active aquarist society. 

I have graduated college with my Marine Biology degree and now I am a Masters Student doing Coastal and Ocean Policy (All thanks to my high school hobby of saltwater aquariums). 

For the last 5 years my aquarium has been the ocean since I live only 4 miles from the beach. However, I acquired a 20 gallon long, I believe, which originally had a crack in the bottom of it and the silicon was super worn down. So I scraped out all of the old silicon and resealed it, and sealed the crack in the glass as well. It survived the bathtub test and I am satisfied that it is water tight-- if anyone else has any suggestions about using this tank please feel free!.

I have convinced my husband that we need to upgrade our fish keeping skills (I have a beta which I have kept for a year and a half now in a beautiful vase). SO This leads me to transporting my aquarium from my parents house in DC back to North Carolina, where I am currently living in hopefully about 3 weeks. 

My Biggest concern as of right now is when I had my 45 reef tank, the salt splash pulled off all the paint from my parents wall-- (They were very pleased by that). As I am renting an apartment, I would really like to not do a few hundred dollars worth of damage to their walls. Does anyone have any suggestions to how to set up a sheet, acrylic, optimal distance away from the wall to avoid the paint coming off the wall?

Thanks

Sara

I have definitely considered getting a new aquarium. So that is on my radar of something to do.

It has been 5  years since i have had an aquarium so trying to remember everything. 

Here are my thoughts for the tank:

Currently planning on not having a sump-- may have a HOB "filter" refugium though. 

Live rock, sand normal stuff (powerheads, heaters, testing equip etc)).